Guest Blog – Interview is as Interview Does

Announcer: Today’s guest author is John W. Howell who writes a blog named Fiction Favorites. It can be found at http://johnwhowell.com. John will be interviewed by D. So D you are on.

D: Since A is still out of touch today we have with us as a guest author; Mr. John W. Howell the world-famous scientist and writer of intriguing stories about the early mating habits of the Druid clan─

J: Um excuse me D but that is not correct.

D: What part is not true? Scientist? World famous? Writer?

J: I know nothing of the mating habits of Druids and I am not a scientist nor am I world-famous.

D:  These are the notes I have. Oh wait, these are about John Milton. Did A made a mistake in asking you to guest today?

J: Well that remains to be seen, but I am not sure where you got that bio, but it is not me.

D: Your name is John right?

J: That is correct.

D: You are a writer?

J: Yes that is also correct.

D: What have you written?

J: Well my second novel is being edited by the publisher as we speak and the third is about three quarters finished.

D: Your second you say? Where is the first?

J: Well I printed the manuscript on my computer and it is in my laundry room.

D: Laundry room? What’s that and what is your manuscript doing there?

J: A laundry room is where you wash clothes and it is holding the door open.

D: You have a door on your creek? How do you do that?

J: Creek? What do you mean creek? *sigh*

D: We druids wash our clothes at the creek on the rocks.

J: No, no today there are rooms set aside to wash clothes.

D: How do you get a creek to run through a room? Oh never mind.(rolls eyes) Why is the manuscript holding the door open?

J: So the wind won’t slam it shut.

D: I am getting the opinion you are avoiding the question. Why isn’t the manuscript where it can be read?

J: Because it is lousy.

D: Covered in bugs?

J: The story needs work so there it sits. I guess I should look at it again but I have been so darned busy.

D: Yes busy is the curse of creative people I have found. Too busy for this, too busy for that.

J: Is the interview over?

D: I didn’t even get to ask you about your book.

J: That’s okay. When I get a launch date maybe A will let me come back.

D: *mumbles*

J: Sorry, I missed that.

D: Yeah sure she will invite you back to describe a little more your clothes washing habits and your first book. You’ll pardon me if I don’t see you out, but I need to prepare a report for A on this meeting. Goodbye John er…

J: Howell. The last name is Howell.  That’s okay I dropped some crumbs and can follow them out. Bye now.

D: Very well.*Mumbles* Damn mice. Good luck

John W. Howell

John’s main interests are reading, writing and sometimes arithmetic.  He turned to writing as a full-time occupation after an extensive career in business.  John writes thriller fiction novels and short stories. His story Cold Night Out won an honorable mention in Writers Digest Popular Fiction contest this year. He also won first place in the Kurt Vonnegut Kilgore Trout novel contest just announced in April, celebrating Kurt Vonnegut as an author. His short story Never Give Inn was selected to be published in the Miracle E-zine fifth issue published in April.

He spends off time reconditioning a 1978 Toyota FJ40 Land Cruiser and consulting with major companies in the areas of strategic planning and marketing. (The arithmetic part)

John lives on Mustang Island in the Gulf of Mexico off the coast of south Texas with his wife Molly and their spoiled rescue pets.

John has finished his debut novel and has signed a contract with Martin Sisters Publishing.www.martinsisterpublishing.com

Read more at Fiction Favorites – and many thanks to John for joining the D/A Dialogues today!

Published by John W. Howell

I have been working in business for over forty years and now have the time to work in special areas of interest. My passion has always been to create compelling stories of fiction. I have authored six novels and am working on my Seventh. The first novel is still in manuscript form and being utilized as a door stop in the laundry room. The second is a contemporary fiction novel of 89,000 words and is complete and I am currently seeking a publisher. I also write poetry but have not had the guts to share any with anyone. The one time I read a piece to a person their only comment was, “it doesn’t rhyme.” I will continue to write and hopefully my blog, Fiction Favorites at www.johnwhowell.com will provide some entertainment and an interesting thought or two. I live in the Austin area with my wife Molly and an assortment of loving pets.

17 thoughts on “Guest Blog – Interview is as Interview Does

Comments are closed.