And so it begins

Maureen clasped the two identical boxes beneath her arms as she slipped into the boarding school common room.  Her green eyes flashed mischievously at Sean as she set the boxes down on the room’s main table and lifted their lids. . .
“You want to help me find the man. . .”
“The man with the blue eyes? But Maureen, he’s not. . .” Sean trailed off. He settled on his knees in front of the table where Maureen had deposited their family mementos.

D: I am in their boxes, aren’t I?
A: What are you doing here? You’re not even in this part!
D: I am so; they’re talking about me.
A: But they don’t know that, yet. You haven’t been properly introduced.
D: So, introduce me.

A: And so it begins…

I sat in the grove of my own creation and stared out at a world and a people descended of mine own.  As I watched, trees gave way to stone and the many lost their claim to the priests of the One. 

 Then the wheel turned. The sacred trees grew around this effigy of stone and the many came out of hiding.  I sat in my grove and watched a world outside my imagination, willing it to see.

She saw.  She, my kin only by remote design, saw me.  She saw me with uncanny green eyes, the green eyes of my mother and her mother before her: witch’s eyes.

A joy rose in me.  It was time; time to join the world after years of solitude, time to act after centuries of stillness.

I closed my eyes and reached across the barrier, to touch my future and my past.

Published by Katie Sullivan

Descended of pirates and revolutionaries, Katie Sullivan is a lover and student of all things Irish. Born in the States, she is a dual US/Irish citizen, and studied history and politics at University College, Dublin – although, at the time, she seriously considered switching to law, if only so she could attend lectures at the castle on campus. She lives in Milwaukee with her daughter, two cats and a pesky character in her head named D (but you can call him Dubh). Her first series, The Changelings Saga, a young adult historical fantasy trilogy is available on Amazon. She can be found writing with said character at her blog, The D/A Dialogues.

2 thoughts on “And so it begins

  1. This is a very emotional piece. There seems to be an awakening and remorse mixed with anticipation. I am impressed on how quickly you blended the emotions together!

    Like

Comments are closed.