My Dearest Love

D: A love story, how sweet.

A: It is sweet, D. And one day I may actually get to tell the whole thing.

D: This story has been rambling about up here for a while – Evie and I are good chums. The second story is loosely based on your grandparents, yes?

A: Where are you going with this?

D: I’m just wondering about the third story.

A: It hasn’t happened yet. I’m working on it.

D: Will it have ghosts?

A: No, I think Evelyn and Samuel do that just fine.

D: What about vampires?

A: Nope, you skulk around for that well enough.

D: Then what?!

A: I’m waiting for me, dummy. Now shush; let people read the story!

The Community Storyboard

This is a germ of a novel I’ve had in my head for many years. When Ionia presented the Love Letters prompt, I knew it was a sign to put the ideas to paper: this is its first outing. Eventually, provided D leaves me be at some point, it will be an intertwining tale of three love stories told over great distances.

My Dearest Evelyn,

While war continues, I would not write of it. I would spare you the details of my daily horror.

When I write to you, it is to forget that I am far from you, far from your embrace. I wish that I had been brave enough to speak to your father and ask for your hand before this started. I have faced enough secesh as punishment for my fear, and I will speak to him.

* * *

Samuel,

Your words fill me with hope…

View original post 1,131 more words

5 thoughts on “My Dearest Love

  1. I am so glad you wrote this story. So, this was the house on the lake? And you had two ghosts, not just one. I love how you took the clues they gave you and wove it into a touching story. It might be just what they needed for release.

    Like

  2. Thank you, Andra! This is the house on the lake. In addition to Evie and the soldier, there were many more ghosts – mostly upstairs and mostly children, although there was a nurse or someone who used to give me the heebie-jeebies at the head of the stairs! My mother suspects that the land we moved the house to may have been “haunted” as well – sort of like a gateway or focal point of some sort.

    I like to think that Evie was looking for someone to understand her – I believe she was an older woman when she died and she loved to have fun with all of us when we tried to contact her – I hope, wherever she is, that she likes the story!

    Like

Let's start our own dialogue

