Frabjous Friday

Jabberwocky

Jabberwocky (Photo credit: Moochy)

D: Oh, A. That’s not even a word.

A: You sound so disappointed, D. It is a word. It’s on the internet.

D: . . .

A: I saw it in the Urban Dictionary. That means it’s a word.* Plus, it’s awesome and it means Johnny Depp dances in a kilt. There is little else better than that.

D: I . . . I have nothing for you on that. I suppose I simply feel that it isn’t up to par with your other words.

A: It isn’t? I think that perhaps it is. It’s frabjous after all.

D: You are ridiculous.

A: It’s Friday, and it’s fra-

D: You can stop that now.

A: Fine. What would you rather I have as a word for today?

D: Must we even have a word for the day? It’s a day – using some sort of spectacular and nonsensical word to describe it isn’t going to elevate it. That’s up to you.

A: Humor me, Druid.

D: I’ve spent years humoring you.

A: And another fifteen minutes won’t kill you.

D: (grumble . . . mutter . . .  grumble)

A: What was that?

D: Bloody woman. Fine. I have a word for you.

A: I’m breathless with anticipation.

D: Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious

A: But what about–? But you–? You know what? Forget it. Feeling old-school today, D?

D: You ain’t just whistlin’ Dixie, lady.

A: . . .

D: Don’t you like my modern parlance, A?

A: I – I’m speechless, D.

D: Well, then it is a Frabjous Friday after all.

* I don’t really believe that, but sometimes I have to take one for the team, just to rile the druid.

The Druid Tells the Tale
d as imaged by Green Embers

D, by Green Embers

D: So much has been happening on the blogosphere since A decided to indulge herself in a little bit of ‘slow-blogging’ as she calls it. Lazy is more like.

A: Oi! I’ve been busy. And you know, writing.

D: Hardly.

A: Are you going to tell the tale or tell tales on me?

D: Fair enough. Stop by Green Embers for a Blogging Birthday Serial in honor of Ionia’s Birthday. The journey starts Deep within the forest . . .

Give Green a round of applause, not only for the inspired serial, but for his incredible rendering of yours truly. It almost makes me blush.

A: Almost.

D: I’m not burdened with too much modesty, Miss A.

A: I can see that – I can also see that Green did a fantastic job. While you’re reading Green’s serial, please give Ionia a virtual hug, pray, send healing energy or sacrifice a chicken, if that’s your style. She may throw a squirrel or a cupcake at you, but we still want her to know she’s in our thoughts.

D: I’m hoping for cupcakes, myself. Finally, If chills are more your style, take a gander at the latest entry in the Jessica Bell Bayou Bonhomme series.

A: So much creativity; it truly is frapjous (don’t look at me like that D). If you are looking for a place to put your own creative wordling (as I have), look no further. The Community Storyboard wants YOU! Submit to us now.

D: A really, that is so. . . .

A: You have a dirty mind, D.

D: 13 years in your head, A. 13 years.

Don’t forget about wePoets Show It: The collaborative artistic community developed by poets Zoe and Kira – they have a schedule of posts, including spoken word Mondays. Stop by, submit and enjoy!

A: Kori Miller, over at Kori Miller Writes, is also looking for the creatively-minded to submit work on her blog so she can spread the word!

Check it out.

D: And finally, take a moment to read and vote onPatti Hall’s story on love, laughter and loss. It’s beautiful and shows a strong heart.

A: That’s it everyone. Have a Frabjous Friday!

What are your favorite nonsense words?

24 thoughts on “Frabjous Friday

  1. Great update! I don’t know if I can bring myself to say that word… I am almost tempted to leave you the same video I left on Dean’s blog, hehehehe. I won’t though. Have a great Friday! 🙂

    Like

  2. Ha! I am always amazed again and again how wonderfully talented you are Katie :). Love the drawing by Green Embers…perfect! Thank you so much for the shout out for wePoets!! Keep an eye on our calendar for your own adventure!!! Xoxo

    Like

    • Thank you! The drawing *is* perfect – Bradley did an excellent job (even if it does give D a big head). I love the communities like the Storyboard and wePoets – We Drink Because We’re Poets, too (gotta work them into a post!)

      I’ll keep a lookout – The dialogue between D and A when it’s live should be really … entertaining. I’m not sure who is getting the blame, yet! 🙂

      Like

  3. As usual a fine post. Also Andra should know that all y’all is singular reference to everyone being addressed. My favorite is Y’all’s which is the possessive form. Used like; is this ball y’alls? And the plural Y’alls as in Y’alls need to pay attention to the rules.

    Like

Let's start our own dialogue

