On the third day of NaNo. . .

On the third day of NaNo, my true muse gave to me

Three cough drops

Two cuddly kitties

And a family that’s dear to me.

***

D: Three cough drops?

A: Yep.

D: Only three?

A: Nope.

D: At least three?

A: Yep.

D: Now now, don’t get all loquacious on me, A.

A: Sorry, I had a cough drop. What were you saying?

D: You do this on purpose, don’t you?

A: Pretty much. Look, it was the first thing that popped into my head. I could very well have said three ginger snaps, three fun naps or three episodes of Spaced, but that one doesn’t rhyme, so it’s out.

D: . . . Or three doses of cold medicine. You know, you’re kind of fun on Nyquil, A. How many fingers am I holding up?

A: . . . 3?

D: (Puts up two more fingers) Close enough. You know what else comes in threes?

A: Don’t say bad things. We’ve had two near-misses this week, a third is pretty much going to turn all my hair white.

D: Oh, you mean it’s not already?

A: Shush.

D: I was going to say good things, Miss Pessimistic-Pants.

A: Oh. Well. Good. That’s good, D. Miss Pessimistic-Pants?

D: Don’t judge, A. As I was saying, I will see your three cough drops and raise you three good pieces of news.

A: Um, are we playing poker with my NonNaNo posts?

D: Can you think of anything better?

A: Not really, no. Take it away, D!

By Green Embers

By Green Embers

D: While A toddles off to her tissue-filled rest, please allow me to give my congratulations to a talented gentleman who has taken on the task of bringing me to life visually, not once, but twice. The talented Green Embers has released his first novella, A Lich’s Tale and Other Stories. Check it out.

Second, the lovely Sarah M. Cradit is responsible for this week’s prompt at the Community Storyboard: Childhood Memories. I’m interested to see how A – and everyone else for that matter – will careen down memory lane.

Finally, the most-excellent and prolific scribe of Windemere, Charles Yallowitz, is releasing his third book in the series on December 1 and he needs you, yes you, and yes you too. And yes, madam, you as well. Ah, and the gentleman in the top hat – I think he requested you by name, good sir—

A: Uh, D?

D: Oh yes. Sorry – do forgive me. Where was I? Right – Charles is looking for volunteers to celebrate the release of his book, Legends of Windemere: Allure of the Gypsies. Check it out and sign up!

A: Well done, D. In this case of NonNaNo Poker, I fold. Your 3 good news totally beats my 3 cough drops.

D: Well, obviously.

A: I think on the fourth day, D gets to learn graciousness.

D: I’m sorry, A – your voice is a little muffled with  that cold. Was that greatness?

A: How about humility?

D:  Ah, great ability you mean? Why yes, I do have quite a bit of that.

A: I give up. Good night, folks!

This is the third in a series. Each day, either D or I (or both) will discuss what the 30 days of my Non-NaNo have given us. Stay tuned.

Related Posts

On the First Day of NaNo. . . 

On the Second Day of NaNo . . .

17 thoughts on “On the third day of NaNo. . .

Let's start our own dialogue

